Introducing the current progress of the cooperative network inspired by
the values pursued via the Human City Design Award framework.

To create human-centered cities, citizens need to exercise their rights and obligations
as active participants in creating, shaping, and building their own cities.

Message from the judge

This video was shown at the 2019 Human City Design Awards event.

A new answer.
This time, focusing on the people

To solve these problems and properly respond to the changing world, a city needs to create an environment in which its people can actively demonstrate their capabilities. Meanwhile, people must be keenly aware of the dangers and potentials of the world evolving around them.

2020 Winner Interview

A City overrun by the Mafia
Achieve Dreams of Change through Communal Solidarity


Additional Interview
Grand Prize: Countless Cities (Andrea Bartoli)


2019 Winner Interview

Why did you focus on libraries and sporting facilities?

Question - Lee Soon-jong
(Head of Streeing Committee)

As our design team was drafting plans for the local public facilities in the Dunoon area, it surveyed the needs of local residents. As it turns out, the locals wanted a sporting facility where everyone could come together and play, or a library where mothers and grandmothers could take their children to and learn new things more than anything else. People wanted a place that could shelter children from drugs or crime, and keep them comfortable and safe.

Answer - Liezel Kruger-Fountain
(Designer of Dunoon Learning and Innovation Project)

Cooperative Network


Human City Network

  • Austria (Graz)
  • Belgium (Brussels)
  • Estonia (Tallinn)
  • Finland (Helsinki)
  • France (Saint-Etienne)
  • Italy (Milan)
  • Poland (Cieszyn)
  • Serbia (Belgrade)
  • Slovenia (Ljubljana)
  • Spain (Bilbao)
  • U.K. (London)

UNESCO City of Design

  • Argentina
    (Buenos Aires)
  • Australia
    (Greater Geelong)
  • Austria (Graz)
  • Belgium (Kortrijk)
  • Brazil (Brasilia, Curitiba)
  • Canada (Montreal)
  • China (Beijing, Shanghai, Wuhan)
  • Denmark (Kolding)
  • Finland (Helsinki)
  • France
    (Saint-Etienne, UNESCO HQ)
  • Germany (Berlin)
  • Hungary (Budapest)
  • Indonesia (Bandung)
  • Italy (Torino)
  • Japan (Kobe, Nagoya)
  • Lituania (Kaunas)
  • Mexico (Mexico City, Puebla)
  • Singapore (Singapore)
  • South Africa
    (Cape Town)
  • Spain (Bilbao)
  • Turkey (Istanbul)
  • U.A.E. (Dubai)
  • U.K. (Dundee)
  • U.S.A. (Detroit)


  • British Council
  • China Culture Center
  • Embassy of Japan (Public Information and Cultural Center)
  • Embassy of Switzerland in South Korea
  • Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • Institut Francais
  • Istituto Italiano Di Cultura
  • Goethe Institut


  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • E.U.
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • U.A.E.
  • U.K.
  • U.S.A.
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam